Songlines Music Awards 2012 Winners’ Concert Tonight

Posted on November 23rd, 2012 in News, Recent posts by .

The day has finally arrived, and tonight the Barbican plays host to the very first Songlines Music Awards Winners’ concert. We are thrilled to confirm that the concert is a sell-out, and we’re very much looking forward to seeing everyone. 

Kicking off proceedings will be this year’s Newcomer winner, Fatoumata Diawara. Fatoumata appears to have worked her musical charms on pretty much everyone in the last 12 months, garnering outstanding reviews and her excellent live performances and collaborations have led her to become a popular staple of the festival circuit.

Best Artist winner Anoushka Shankar started learning sitar aged nine. In her teens she was regularly playing alongside her father, Ravi Shankar,  and had released three albums by the age of 20.  Tonight’s concert features Spanish and Indian musicians who worked with Anoushka on her 2011 Traveller album, including flamenco singer Sandra Carrasco and Indian percussionist Pirashanna Thevarajah plus other special guests.

Rounding off the night will be Best Group winners, Tinariwen.  The pioneering band who created the electric Touareg guitar sound and, since their first international appearance at Denmark’s Roskilde Festival in 2001, have captivated fans of desert blues around the world. As the best-known representatives of Touareg culture, Tinariwen are even more in the spotlight with the takeover of northern Mali by Islamists who have banned music and imposed sharia law. Despite huge concerns back in their homeland, with a Grammy win earlier in the year for their album Tassili, plus their Songlines award, 2012 has been an incredible year for the group.

We shall be providing updates throughout the night on our twitter page. Follow us @songlinesmag

Keep an eye out for how to submit your nominations for the Songlines Music Awards 2013 in the January/February (#89) issue, on sale in the UK on December 7.

Be Sociable, Share!

    Tags: , , , ,

    Comments are closed.