Mick Jagger’s playlist and the 10 best new releases in the new Songlines issue

Posted on June 6th, 2013 in News, Recent posts by .

The July 2013 issue of Songlines is now on sale. It includes our regular Top of the World CD with ten tracks from the finest new releases from around the planet. The CD also includes five tracks selected by Rolling Stones frontman, Mick Jagger.

The Top of the World CD includes tracks from sitar maestro Ravi Shankar; Songhai bluesman Samba Touré; desert stars Etran Finatawa; the heir to the Afro-beat throne Femi Kuti; Louisiana’s The Hot 8 Brass Band; innovative indie-meets-mariachi duo David Wax Museum; and Owiny Sigoma Band, who combine Kenyan Luo music with London’s club scene, amongst others. 

Pick up your copy here, at UK HMV stores, selected WHSmiths and all good record retailers. Feast your ears on these all-new tracks:

* The Hot 8 Brass Band ‘Wolf Burger’ on Tru Thoughts
* Nynke ‘Düns Fan de Siedden’ on Crammed Discs
* Femi Kuti ‘Nothing to Show for it’ on Wrasse Records
* David Wax Museum ‘Harder Before it gets Easier’ on Mark of the Leopard
* Etran Finatawa ‘Is Ler Is Salan’ on Riverboat Records
* Los Desterrados ‘Aguila Guila’ on Enkalador Records
* Samba Touré ‘Al Barka’ on Glitterbeat Records
* Solas ‘High, Wide and Handsome’ on THL Records
* Owiny Sigoma band ‘Norbat Okelo’ on Brownswood Recording
* Ravi Shankar ‘Ravi Singhi Bhiravi’ on East Meets West Music

Plus Mick Jagger’s playlist:

* Clifton Chenier ‘I’m a Hog for You’ on Arhoolie Records
* Salif Keita ‘M’ Bemba’ on Decca Records
* T Visvanathan and T Ranganathan ‘Sandehamunu’ on Smithsonian Folkways Recordings
* Farafina ‘Dounounia’ on Real World Records
* Fela Kuti and Ginger Baker ‘Let’s Start’ on Knitting Factory Records

Be Sociable, Share!

    Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

    Comments are closed.