RED HOT + FELA – Aids charity compilation

Posted on September 6th, 2013 in News, Recent posts by .

Label: Knitting Factory Records / Distributed by PIAS

Words by Alex de Lacey

Knitting Factory Records release collaborative album of Fela Kuti covers on October 15

Uniting an eclectic, collaborative roster of artists from the US and Africa in the name of AIDS awareness with all profits going to combat the disease.

Red Hot is an AIDS awareness organisation currently partnering with cross-genre collaborators representing rock, hip-hop, Americana and classical music for the forthcoming album release of Fela Kuti covers.  The release includes classic Fela anthems like ‘Lady’ recorded by tUnE-yArDsQuestloveAngeliqué Kidjo and Akua Naru, and ‘Zombie’ recorded by Spoek MathamboCerebral Cortex and Frown.

‘Lady’ is available to stream on Soundcloud:

There is also a free download of the opening track of the release ‘Buy Africa’ by Baloji & L’Orchestre De La Katuba featuring Kuku. Click here to download.

Full track listing of the release, detailing all the featured artists involved:

1. ‘Buy Africa’ – Baloji & L’Orchestre De La Katuba featuring Kuku
2. ‘Lady’ – tUnE-yArDs, Questlove, Angélique Kidjo + Akua Naru
3. ‘Yellow Fever’ – Spoek Mathambo + Zaki Ibrahim
4. ‘No Buredi’ – Nneka, Sinkane, Amayo + Superhuman Happiness
5. ‘Who No Know Go Know’ – Just A Band + Childish Gambino
6. ‘Trouble Sleep Yanga Wake Am’ – My Morning Jacket w/ Merrill Garbus + Brittany Howard
7. ‘Sorrow Tears and Blood’ – Kyp Malone and Tunde Adebimpe, Kronos Quartet + Stuart Bogie
8. ‘ITT’ – Superhuman Happiness w/ Sahr Ngaujah, Abena Koomson + Rubblebucket
9. ‘Afrodisco Beat 2013’ – Tony Allen, M1 + Baloji
10. ‘Gentleman’ – Just A Band, Bajah + Chance the Rapper
11. ‘Hi Life Time’ – Gender Infinity
12. ‘Zombie’ – Spoek Mathambo + Cerebral Cortex + Frown
13. ‘Go Slow’ – King

Continuing their impressive series of reissues celebrating Fela’s 75th birthday, Knitting Factory Records are also releasing a further six reissues on the same day:

Teacher Don’t Teach Me Nonsense 
Original Suffer Head / ITT
Live In Amsterdam
Army Arrangement
Beasts Of No Nation / ODOO
Underground System

Making of ‘Lady’:

Be Sociable, Share!

    Tags: , , , , ,

    Comments are closed.