New Africa Express album on the way

Posted on November 18th, 2013 in News, Recent posts by .

Maison Des Jeunes PACKSHOT


Globe-trotting Damon Albarn announces new Africa Express digital release, Africa Express Presents: Maison Des Jeunes, for December 9 2013, followed by a physical release in 2014

Recorded in Bamako, Mali, Africa Express Presents: Maison Des Jeunes was accomplished in just over a week this October. Musicians and producers involved in the project, including Brian Eno and Idris Elba, set up shop in a city youth club on the banks of the Niger river – locally known as Maison Des Jeunes.

Continuing the Africa Express ethos of mixing musical talent from East and West, the record features a fresh wave of contemporary Malian talent. Kankou Kouyaté (niece of Bassekou) joins her band Gambari, as well as Timbuktu indie group Songhoy Blues (video below) and Bamako-based talking drum band Doucoura who collaborate with London-based producer Ghostpoet.

An album launch event will take place on December 9 at London’s Oval Space, which will also feature the  UK premiere of the documentary on the 2012 Africa Express train tour.

Full tracklisting:

1. Adama Koita – ‘Fantainfalla Toyi Bolo’ (Produced by Two Inch Punch)
2. Songhoy Blues – ‘Soubour’ (Produced by Nick Zinner & Remi Kabaka)
3. Ghostpoet feat. Doucoura – ‘Season Change’ (Produced by Two Inch Punch &   Damon Albarn)
4. Bijou – ‘Dougoudé Sarrafo’ (Produced by Damon Albarn)
5. Lil Silva – ‘Bouramsy’ (Produced by Lil Silva)
6. Talbi – ‘Rapou Kanou’ (Produced by Two Inch Punch)
7. Gambari feat. Kankou Kouyaté – ‘Yamore’ (Produced by Damon Albarn)
8. Yacouba Sissoko Band – ‘Chanson Denko Tapestry’ (Produced by Brian Eno)
9. Lobi Traoré Band – ‘Deni Kelen Be Koko’ (Produced by David Maclean)
10. Moussa Traoré – ‘Farafina’ (Produced by Damon Albarn)
11. Tiemoko Sogodogo – ‘Latégué’ (Produced by Brian Eno)

Songhoy Blues – ‘Soubour’

Be Sociable, Share!

    Tags: , , ,

    Comments are closed.