Julie Fowlis, Sam Sweeney and The Gloaming among BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards nominees

Posted on February 4th, 2015 in News, Recent posts by .


The nominees for this year’s BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards have been announced by Mark Radcliffe

37 nominated artists have been chosen across nine categories, which include the much-coveted Folk Singer of the Year and Musician of the Year awards.

The winners will be announced at the 16th Folk Awards ceremony on Wednesday April 22 at the Wales Millennium Centre, Cardiff.  The ceremony will be hosted by Mark Radcliffe and Julie Fowlis. Acts so far confirmed to perform on the night are Yusuf / Cat Stevens, Loudon Wainwright III, 9Bach and English folk singer Kate Rusby. Last year’s winners included Bella Hardy, Aidan O’Rourke and The Full English.

Visit the Folk Awards site to find out more. You can listen again to The Folk Show with Mark Radcliffe on the BBC.

The full list of nominees are as follows:

Folk Singer of the Year
Cara Dillon
Julie Fowlis
Nancy Kerr
Jez Lowe

Best Duo
Josienne Clarke & Ben Walker
O’Hooley & Tidow
Greg Russell & Ciaran Algar
Chris While & Julie Matthews

Best Group
The Furrow Collective
The Gloaming
The Young ‘Uns

Best Album
Fair Warning – The Rails
Nothing Can Bring Back The Hour – Josienne Clarke & Ben Walker
Sweet Visitor – Nancy Kerr
The Moral Of The Elephant – Martin & Eliza Carthy
Tincian – 9Bach

Horizon Award
Ange Hardy
Maz O’Connor
Stick In The Wheel
The Rails

Musician of the Year
Martin Green
Will Pound
Sam Sweeney
Kathryn Tickell

Best Original Song
‘Swim To The Star’ – Peggy Seeger/Calum MacColl (performed by Peggy Seeger)
‘The Necklace Of Wrens’ – Michael Hartnett (performed by The Gloaming)
‘The Pitmen Poets’ – Jez
‘The Spider And The Wolf’ – Paul Simmonds (performed by Naomi Bedford)

Best Traditional Track
‘Bedlam’ – Stick In The Wheel
‘Handsome Molly’ – The Furrow Collective
‘Manus Mo Rùin’– Cruinn
‘Samhradh Samhradh’ – The Gloaming

BBC Radio 2 Young Folk Award
Cup O’Joe
Roseanne Reid
Wildwood Kin

Anaïs Mitchell and Jefferson Hamer perform at last year’s ceremony:

Be Sociable, Share!

    Tags: , , , , ,

    Comments are closed.