BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards: The Winners

Posted on April 23rd, 2015 in News, Recent posts by .


Photography by BBC/Brian Tarr

The winners of the 2015 BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards were announced during last night’s ceremony in Cardiff.

The 16th annual BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards ceremony took place in the Wales Millennium Centre in Cardiff and was hosted by Mark Radcliffe and Julie Fowlis.

There were impressive live performances by an array of acts including The Rails, who won the Horizon Award, and Yusuf/Cat Stevens who won the Lifetime Achievement Award and performed his 1970 hit ‘Moonshadow’. Among the celebrities presenting awards, Billy Bragg handed Peggy Seeger and Calum MacColl their Best Original Song award and Gavin and Stacey star Ruth Jones handed Nancy Kerr the Folk Singer of the Year award.

The full list of this year’s winners:

Folk Singer of the year
Nancy Kerr

Best Duo
Josienne Clarke & Ben Walker

Best Group
The Young’uns

Best Album
Tincian by 9Bach

Horizon Award
The Rails

Musician of the Year
Sam Sweeney

Best Original Song
‘Swim to the Star’ by Peggy Seeger & Calum MacColl

Best Traditional Track
‘Samhradh Samhradh’ by The Gloaming

BBC Radio 3 Young Folk Award

Lifetime Achievement Award
Yusuf/Cat Stevens
Loudon Wainwright III

Good Traditional Award
Meredydd Evans

Hall of Fame
Ewan MacColl

You can catch up on the full awards ceremony on BBC iPlayer, available from 7pm today or you watch a selection of performances on the Radio 2 website.

Be Sociable, Share!

    Tags: , , , ,

    Comments are closed.