Songlines Music Awards 2016: The Nominees

Posted on March 31st, 2016 in News, Recent posts by .




With the Songlines Music Awards now in their eighth year, Songlines is delighted to announce the 2016 nominees.

The awards, voted by Songlines contributors, readers and the general public, celebrate and acknowledge the myriad of musical talent across the world.

“Weʼve expanded the awards this year to cover geographical regions, which means the awards better reflect the variety of music that Songlines champions,” says Simon Broughton, editor-in-chief of Songlines. “Our nominees range from Armenia to Thailand, Mali to Mexico, and India to the US. What hasnʼt changed is the important recognition that a Songlines Music Award represents.”

Featuring 19 tracks from the nominees in the five geographical categories, the Songlines Music Awards 2016 compilation album is now available on CD exclusively from Amazon. Purchase your copy.

Find out more about all the nominees in the May issue (out April 1) or by visiting All the winners (including the Newcomer and World Pioneer Award winners) will be announced in the June issue (#118, out May 6).


Best Artist (nominated by the public)


Lura (Herança on Lusafrica)
Mariza (Mundo on Warner Music)
Pascuala Ilabaca y Fauna (Busco Paraíso on Petit Indie)
Seckou Keita (22 Strings on ARC Music)

Click here to discover more about the Best Artist nominees


Best Group (nominated by the public)


Africa Express (Terry Rileyʼs In C Mali on Transgressive Records)
Kapela Maliszów (Inconceivable Mazurkas on Karrot Kommando)
Khiyo (Khiyo on ARC Music)
Monsieur Doumani (Sikoses on Monsieur Doumani)

Click here to discover more about the Best Group nominees


Africa & Middle East


Blick Bassy (Akö on No Format!)
Songhoy Blues (Music in Exile on Transgressive Records)
Seckou Keita (22 Strings on ARC Music )
The Gurdjieff Ensemble & Levon Eskenian (Komitas on ECM Records)

Click here to discover more about the Africa & Middle East nominees




Punch Brothers (The Phosphorescent Blues on Nonesuch Records)
Lila Downs (Balas y Chocolate on Sony Music)
Tom & Ben Paley (Paley & Son on Hornbeam Recordings)
Le Vent du Nord (Têtu on Borealis Records)

Click here to discover more about the Americas nominees




Monsieur Doumani (Sikoses on Monsieur Doumani)
Sam Lee & Friends (The Fade in Time on The Nest Collective Records)
Spiro (Welcome Joy and Welcome Sorrow on Real World)
Tcha Limbergerʼs Budapest Gypsy Orchestra
(Fekete Éjszaka Borulj a Világra on Lejazzetal)

Click here to discover more about the Europe nominees


Asia & South Pacific


Paradise Bangkok Molam International Band
(21st Century Molam on Studio Lam)
Debashish Bhattacharya (Slide Guitar Ragas from Dusk Till Dawn on Riverboat)
Anoushka Shankar (Home on Deutsche Grammophon)
Frank Yamma (Uncle on Wantok Musik)

Click here to discover more about the Asia & South Pacific nominees




Faris (Mississippi to Sahara on Wrasse Records)
Ibeyi (Ibeyi on XL)
Ballaké Sissoko & Vincent Segal (Musique de Nuit on No Format!)
Mahsa Vahdat (Traces of an Old Vineyard on Kirkelig Kulturverksted)

Click here to discover more about the Fusion nominees

Be Sociable, Share!


    Comments are closed.