BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards – The Winners Announced

Posted on April 27th, 2016 in News, Recent posts by .

Rhiannon Giddens BBC Folk Awards

Rhiannon Giddens, The Unthanks and Andy Cutting triumph at the 17th annual BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards

Rhiannon Giddens (pictured) was named Folk Singer of the Year during a star-studded ceremony at London’s Royal Albert Hall earlier this evening. Born in North Carolina, the operatically trained vocalist, multi-instrumentalist and co-founder of the Carolina Chocolate Drops triumphed ahead of English folk stars Eliza Carthy, Sam Lee and Emily Portman.

The Musician of the Year accolade was given to melodeon supremo Andy Cutting, while teenage piping sensation Brighde Chaimbeul took home the BBC Radio 2 Young Folk Award.

The evening’s celebrations included performances from Joan Armatrading, who was presented with a Lifetime Achievement Award, Dire Straits frontman Mark Knopfler, and popular Northumbrian group, The Unthanks, who won Best Album for Mount the Air. In honour of Sandy Denny’s induction into the Hall of Fame, Rufus Wainwright performed a rendition of Denny’s 1968 classic ‘Who Knows Where the Time Goes’ alongside members of Fairport Convention.

Find out more and watch highlights of the evening here.

2016 Award Winners

Folk Singer of the Year
Rhiannon Giddens
Best Duo
Kathryn Roberts & Sean Lakeman
Best Group
The Young’uns
Best Album
The Unthanks - Mount the Air
Horizon Award
Sam Kelly
Musician of the Year
Andy Cutting
Best Original Track
‘Mackerel’ by The Rheingans Sisters
Best Traditional Track
‘Lovely Molly’ by Sam Lee
Young Folk Award
Brighde Chaimbeul
Lifetime Achievement Awards
Norma Waterson & Joan Armatrading
Good Tradition Award
John McCusker


Be Sociable, Share!

    Tags: , , , ,

    Comments are closed.