Songlines Music Awards 2017: The Nominees

Posted on April 6th, 2017 in News, Recent posts by .

Songlines Music Awards 2017

Songlines Music Awards 2017 Compilation

Now in their ninth year, the Songlines Music Awards champion the vast variety of superb musicians from around the world that we cover within the pages of Songlines

All these albums have been reviewed during the past year (from #115 to #124). The nominees in the geographical categories were chosen by our hotshot team of reviewers and the Best Artist and Best Group nominees were voted for by Songlines readers.

The winners of all nine awards, including the Newcomer and World Pioneer Awards, will be announced in the June issue (#128), out May 12.

Featuring 20 tracks from the nominees in the five geographical categories, the Songlines Music Awards 2017 compilation album is now available on CD exclusively from Amazon. Click here to buy your copy.

And the nominees are…

Best Artist (nominated by the public)


Aziza Brahim‪ (Abbar el Hamada on Glitterbeat)
Félix Lajkó (Most Jöttem on Fonó)
Baaba Maal (The Traveller on Marathon Artists)
Ricardo Ribeiro (Hoje é Assim, Amanhã Não Sei on Warner Music Portugal)

Click here to discover more about the Best Artist nominees


Best Group (nominated by the public)

Best Group 2017

Afro Celt Sound System (The Source on ECC Records)
Bollywood Brass Band feat Jyotsna Srikanth  (Carnatic Connection on Bollywood Brass Band)
Kefaya (Radio International on Radio International Records)
Värttinä (Viena on Westpark Music)

Click here to discover more about the Best Group nominees


Africa & Middle East

Africa & Middle East

Alsarah & The Nubatones (Manara on Wonderwheel Recordings)
Derek Gripper (Libraries on Fire on Derek Gripper)
Noura Mint Seymali (Arbina on Glitterbeat)
Mahsa Vahdat (The Sun Will Rise on Kirkelig Kulturverksted)

Click here to discover more about the Africa & Middle East nominees




Calypso Rose (Far From Home on Because Music)
Roberto Fonseca (ABUC on Impulse!)
Lakou Mizik (
Wa Di Yo on Cumbancha)
Sidestepper (Supernatural Love on Real World)

Click here to discover more about the Americas nominees



Çiğdem Aslan  (A Thousand Cranes on Asphalt Tango)
Breabach (Astar on Breabach)
Fanfare Ciocărlia (Onwards to Mars! on Asphalt Tango)
Maarja Nuut (Une Meeles on Maarja Nuut)

Click here to discover more about the Europe nominees


Asia & South Pacific


Anda Union (Homeland on Hohhot Records)
Mei Han and Red Chamber  (Classical & Contemporary Chinese Music on ARC Music)
Khmer Rouge Survivors  (They Will Kill You if You Cry on Glitterbeat)
The Paradise Bangkok Molam International Band  (Planet Lam on Studio Lam)

Click here to discover more about the Asia & South Pacific nominees




FLUX (ShadowLines on Prisms)
The Gloaming (2 on Real World)
Musicians of the Calais Jungle  (The Calais Sessions on Sessions of the World)
The Orchestra of Syrian Musicians & Guests  (Africa Express Presents…The Orchestra of Syrian Musicians & Guests on Transgressive)

Click here to discover more about the Fusion nominees

Be Sociable, Share!

    Tags: ,

    Comments are closed.