Posts Tagged ‘bbc radio 2 folk awards’

BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards – The Winners Announced

Posted on April 27th, 2016 in News, Recent posts by .

Rhiannon Giddens BBC Folk Awards

Rhiannon Giddens, The Unthanks and Andy Cutting triumph at the 17th annual BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards

Rhiannon Giddens (pictured) was named Folk Singer of the Year during a star-studded ceremony at London’s Royal Albert Hall earlier this evening. Born in North Carolina, the operatically trained vocalist, multi-instrumentalist and co-founder of the Carolina Chocolate Drops triumphed ahead of English folk stars Eliza Carthy, Sam Lee and Emily Portman.

The Musician of the Year accolade was given to melodeon supremo Andy Cutting, while teenage piping sensation Brighde Chaimbeul took home the BBC Radio 2 Young Folk Award.

The evening’s celebrations included performances from Joan Armatrading, who was presented with a Lifetime Achievement Award, Dire Straits frontman Mark Knopfler, and popular Northumbrian group, The Unthanks, who won Best Album for Mount the Air. In honour of Sandy Denny’s induction into the Hall of Fame, Rufus Wainwright performed a rendition of Denny’s 1968 classic ‘Who Knows Where the Time Goes’ alongside members of Fairport Convention.

Find out more and watch highlights of the evening here.

2016 Award Winners

Folk Singer of the Year
Rhiannon Giddens
Best Duo
Kathryn Roberts & Sean Lakeman
Best Group
The Young’uns
Best Album
The Unthanks - Mount the Air
Horizon Award
Sam Kelly
Musician of the Year
Andy Cutting
Best Original Track
‘Mackerel’ by The Rheingans Sisters
Best Traditional Track
‘Lovely Molly’ by Sam Lee
Young Folk Award
Brighde Chaimbeul
Lifetime Achievement Awards
Norma Waterson & Joan Armatrading
Good Tradition Award
John McCusker


Tags: , , , , .

BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards nominees announced

Posted on February 10th, 2016 in News, Recent posts by .


Sam Lee, Eliza Carthy, Show of Hands and Lynched among list of nominees

The nominees for this year’s BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards have been announced by Mark Radcliffe on The Folk Show this evening, in what has been touted as one of the strongest lists since the awards began. Experimental Irish four-piece Lynched have been nominated for three awards, whilst singer and avid song collector Sam Lee and newcomers Stick in the Wheel have two apiece.

The winners will be announced at the Folk Awards ceremony, which returns to the Royal Albert Hall on April 27 and will be hosted by Radcliffe and Scottish Gaelic singer Julie Fowlis. Tickets can be purchased here.

The full list of nominees are:

Folk Singer of the Year
Eliza Carthy
Rhiannon Giddens
Sam Lee
Emily Portman

Best Duo
Gilmore & Roberts
Phillip Henry & Hannah Martin
Kathryn Roberts & Sean Lakeman
Marry Waterson & David A Jaycock

Best Group
Stick In The Wheel
The Young’uns

Best Album
The Unquiet Grave  – Damien O’Kane
Cold Old Fire – Lynched
Mount The Air – The Unthanks
Salvor – False Lights
The Long Way Home – Show of Hands

Horizon Award
Rosie Hood
Sam Kelly
The Rheingans Sisters

Musician of the Year
Ross Ainslie
Andy Cutting
Richard Thompson
Dan Walsh

Best Original Track
The Rheingans Sisters – ‘Mackerel’
Marry Waterson & David A. Jaycock – ‘Sing Me Into Your Tune’
Rufus & Martha Wainwright – ‘Sweet Thames Flow Softly’
Spiro – ‘The Vapourer’

Best Traditional Track
Sam Lee – ‘Lovely Molly’
Ghazalaw – ‘Moliannwn’
Stick In The Wheel – ‘Seven Gypsies’
The Furrow Collective – ‘The Unquiet Grave’

BBC Radio 2 Young Folk Award
Causeway Trio
Brighde Chaimbeul
Jack Cookson
Benammi Swift

Find out more at on the BBC website

2015 Best Duo winners Josienne Clarke & Ben Walker performing at last year’s ceremony

Tags: , , , , , .

BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards: The Winners

Posted on April 23rd, 2015 in News, Recent posts by .


Photography by BBC/Brian Tarr

The winners of the 2015 BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards were announced during last night’s ceremony in Cardiff.

The 16th annual BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards ceremony took place in the Wales Millennium Centre in Cardiff and was hosted by Mark Radcliffe and Julie Fowlis.

There were impressive live performances by an array of acts including The Rails, who won the Horizon Award, and Yusuf/Cat Stevens who won the Lifetime Achievement Award and performed his 1970 hit ‘Moonshadow’. Among the celebrities presenting awards, Billy Bragg handed Peggy Seeger and Calum MacColl their Best Original Song award and Gavin and Stacey star Ruth Jones handed Nancy Kerr the Folk Singer of the Year award.

The full list of this year’s winners:

Folk Singer of the year
Nancy Kerr

Best Duo
Josienne Clarke & Ben Walker

Best Group
The Young’uns

Best Album
Tincian by 9Bach

Horizon Award
The Rails

Musician of the Year
Sam Sweeney

Best Original Song
‘Swim to the Star’ by Peggy Seeger & Calum MacColl

Best Traditional Track
‘Samhradh Samhradh’ by The Gloaming

BBC Radio 3 Young Folk Award

Lifetime Achievement Award
Yusuf/Cat Stevens
Loudon Wainwright III

Good Traditional Award
Meredydd Evans

Hall of Fame
Ewan MacColl

You can catch up on the full awards ceremony on BBC iPlayer, available from 7pm today or you watch a selection of performances on the Radio 2 website.

Tags: , , , , .

Chris Wood new album and UK tour

Posted on May 16th, 2013 in News, Recent posts by .

Chris Wood continues None the Wiser tour

In support of his latest release, folk multi-instrumentalist Chris Wood continues his None the Wiser tour tonight at Shrewsbury’s Theatre Severn venue. The remaining eight dates include performances London’s Union Chapel and Birmingham’s Glee Club.

A recipient of multiple successes at the BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards, most notably winning Folk Singer of the Year in both 2009 and 2011, Wood continues to be an important figurehead at the forefront of the traditional English music scene. 

UK tour dates:

May 16 – Shrewsbury, Theatre Severn
May 16 – Canterbury, Cathedral Lodge
May 21 – Liverpool, St George’s Hall
May 22 – Birmingham, The Glee Club
May 23 – London, Union Chapel
May 24 – Derby, The Guildhall 
May 25 – Winchester, Discovery Centre
May 26 – Brighton, The Basement


Tags: , , , , , .

« Older Entries