Posts Tagged ‘folk awards’

Julie Fowlis, Sam Sweeney and The Gloaming among BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards nominees

Posted on February 4th, 2015 in News, Recent posts by .


The nominees for this year’s BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards have been announced by Mark Radcliffe

37 nominated artists have been chosen across nine categories, which include the much-coveted Folk Singer of the Year and Musician of the Year awards.

The winners will be announced at the 16th Folk Awards ceremony on Wednesday April 22 at the Wales Millennium Centre, Cardiff.  The ceremony will be hosted by Mark Radcliffe and Julie Fowlis. Acts so far confirmed to perform on the night are Yusuf / Cat Stevens, Loudon Wainwright III, 9Bach and English folk singer Kate Rusby. Last year’s winners included Bella Hardy, Aidan O’Rourke and The Full English.

Visit the Folk Awards site to find out more. You can listen again to The Folk Show with Mark Radcliffe on the BBC.

The full list of nominees are as follows:

Folk Singer of the Year
Cara Dillon
Julie Fowlis
Nancy Kerr
Jez Lowe

Best Duo
Josienne Clarke & Ben Walker
O’Hooley & Tidow
Greg Russell & Ciaran Algar
Chris While & Julie Matthews

Best Group
The Furrow Collective
The Gloaming
The Young ‘Uns

Best Album
Fair Warning – The Rails
Nothing Can Bring Back The Hour – Josienne Clarke & Ben Walker
Sweet Visitor – Nancy Kerr
The Moral Of The Elephant – Martin & Eliza Carthy
Tincian – 9Bach

Horizon Award
Ange Hardy
Maz O’Connor
Stick In The Wheel
The Rails

Musician of the Year
Martin Green
Will Pound
Sam Sweeney
Kathryn Tickell

Best Original Song
‘Swim To The Star’ – Peggy Seeger/Calum MacColl (performed by Peggy Seeger)
‘The Necklace Of Wrens’ – Michael Hartnett (performed by The Gloaming)
‘The Pitmen Poets’ – Jez
‘The Spider And The Wolf’ – Paul Simmonds (performed by Naomi Bedford)

Best Traditional Track
‘Bedlam’ – Stick In The Wheel
‘Handsome Molly’ – The Furrow Collective
‘Manus Mo Rùin’– Cruinn
‘Samhradh Samhradh’ – The Gloaming

BBC Radio 2 Young Folk Award
Cup O’Joe
Roseanne Reid
Wildwood Kin

Anaïs Mitchell and Jefferson Hamer perform at last year’s ceremony:

Tags: , , , , , .

The BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards 2012

Posted on February 10th, 2012 in Recent posts by .

As industry folk and, for the first time, members of the public took to their seats in The Lyric theatre at the Lowry, there was some speculation about which celebs would be gracing the stage to present the dozen or so awards this year. It’s the first time the event has been held outside of the capital and the Lowry is within spitting distance of the BBC’s new northern home at Media City, on the quayside of Salford. It came as not much of a surprise that the first presenters were from Manchester’s long-running ITV soap, Corrie. It also seemed fitting that The Dubliners would round off the evening with ‘Dirty Old Town’, written by Salford’s finest singer-songwriter Ewan MacColl. Ralph McTell, who presented The Dubliners with their Lifetime Achievement Award, perfectly summed up their long-lasting appeal, saying that there was “a brightness and boisterousness to their music.”

There were a handful of truly memorable live performances – some for all the right reasons, namely The Unthanks singing with The Brighouse and Rastrick Brass Band from West Yorkshire, who did a wonderfully evocative rendition of a song about a Derbyshire pigeon fancier. Then there was the excruciating moment when the collective cringing of the audience listening to Don McLean’s badly out of tune guitar was almost palpable. Fortunately McLean, who received a Lifetime Achievement Award, pulled his reputation back from the brink with a second and more in tune song.

Other favourite musical highlights were Christy Moore and Declan Sinnott playing Kevin Littlewood’s nominated Best Original Song, ‘On Morecambe Bay,’ about the tragic plight of immigrant cockle pickers. And Best Duo winners Brendan Power and Tim Edey (who also won Musician of the Year), who I’m ashamed to say have so far been overlooked by Songlines.

And the other winners? Well, the night definitely belonged to June Tabor and Oysterband who collectively won Folk Singer of the Year, Best Album, Best Group and Best Traditional Track. It seemed to be a celebration of the veterans and more mature artists within the current scene, with the recently reformed The Home Service winning Best Live Act. The Songlines office verdict was that this award should have been a shoo-in for Bellowhead, what with their impressively energetic festival shows and seemingly never-ending tour schedule last year.

So it was a relief to see relative youngster Bella Hardy jointly winning the Best Original Song award with Steve Tilston. And of course, the Horizon Award which went to Derby’s Lucy Ward and the Young Folk Award going to the Irish group Ioscaid (apparently pronounced Iss-Kidge) – we look forward to checking these guys out live and also to their debut album.

So, despite the swish new location, a new co-presenter for Mike Harding, Julie Fowlis, who brought a good dose of glamour to the stage, plus some recognition for a handful of new, young names, the evening very much had a ‘tried and tested’ formula about it. Perhaps it’s time to shake up the awards event even more and have an overhaul on the voting and selection process?

You can check out all of the performances (and do your own cringing to ‘And I Love You So’) by visiting the BBC website:



Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards 2012

Posted on February 8th, 2012 in News, Recent posts by .

Congratulations to the BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards 2012 winners!

The winners were announced during a ceremony that took place at the Lowry Theatre in Salford earlier this evening with a star-studded night and performances by The Dubliners, Christy Moore, Don McLean and Seth Lakeman.

And this year’s winners are…

June Tabor

Tim Edey & Brendan Power

June Tabor & Oysterband

Ragged Kingdom – June Tabor & Oysterband

The Herring Girl – Bella Hardy
The Reckoning – Steve Tilston

Bonny Bunch of Roses – June Tabor & Oysterband

Lucy Ward

Tim Edey

The Home Service


The Dubliners

Don McLean

Ian Campbell

Bill Leader

Malcolm Taylor

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .