Posts Tagged ‘juju’

Cambridge Folk Festival 2012

Posted on July 4th, 2012 in Recent posts by .

With just under a month to go before the start of the Cambridge Folk Festival (July 26-29), there is still time to book tickets for a weekend of eclectic music. 

The festival, founded in 1964, has become well known for it’s diverse line-up. The list of performers for 2012 is as breathtaking as ever, featuring some of the biggest names in folk and world music. Some of the highlights of this year’s festival include Angelique Kidjo, Raghu Dixit, JuJu, The Destroyers and the Pine Leaf Boys. 

Music will happen across four stages including The Club Tent and The Den, which was only introduced last year and is dedicated to showcasing emerging talent. There will also be activities, workshops, street theatre, storytelling and ceilidhs aplenty. 

For full line-up details, please visit and to book your tickets, please visit

Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

BT River of Music Africa Stage tickets are still available

Posted on June 28th, 2012 in News, Recent posts by .

Photo of Angélique Kidjo by Jed Root

There is still time to book your tickets for the  BT River of Music Africa Stage at the London Pleasure Gardens, Docklands, July 21-22.

The stage will feature iconic African artists including Angélique Kidjo, Baaba Maal, and Staff Benda Bilili. Also to perform over the course of the weekend are Justin Adams and The Invisible Republic of JuJu, King Sunny Ade, Seckou Keita, the Bantamba Syndicate, Krar Collective, Muntu Valdo and the Noisettes. 

Tickets are free, though there is a small booking fee of £3. Tickets for the Americas, Asia, Africa and Oceania stages have already been released. For more details on the line-up or how to book your ticket, please visit the BT River of Music website:



Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Songlines Music Awards on the Propermusic Podcast

Posted on April 17th, 2012 in Recent posts by .

On this week’s Propermusic Podcast, Songlines editor Jo Frost, news editor Nathaniel Handy and contributor Tim Cumming talk to Trevor Dann about the Songlines Music Awards 2012.

You can listen to the podcast here and hear excerpts from the Songlines Music Awards 2012 compilation CD, which features all 16 nominated artists. Podcast Episode 31

You can listen to excerpts from all 16 nominees on our Songlines Music Awards 2012 app, available on iTunes.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Songlines Music Awards 2012 – The Nominees

Posted on March 14th, 2012 in News, Recent posts by .

We are delighted to announce the nominees for the Songlines Music Awards 2012. 

The 16 nominees are (drumroll please):

Abigail Washburn (for the album City of Refuge on Rounder)
Anoushka Shankar (for the album Traveller on DG)
Hossam Ramzy (for the album Rock the Tabla on ARC)
Ry Cooder (for the album Pull Up Some Dust and Sit Down on Nonesuch)

JuJu (Justin Adams & Juldeh Camara) (for the album In Trance on Real World)
SheʼKoyokh Klezmer Ensemble (for the album Buskerʼs Ballroom on ARC)
Tinariwen (for the album Tassili on V2/Co-op)
Watcha Clan (for the album Radio Babel on Piranha)

The Bollywood Brass Band and Rafaqat Ali Khan (for the album Chaiyya Chaiyya on Felmay Records)
Dub Colossus (for the album Addis Through the Looking Glass on Real World)
Kronos Quartet, Kimmo Pohjonen, Samuli Kosminen (for the album Uniko on Ondine)
Yo-Yo Ma, Stuart Duncan, Edgar Meyer & Chris Thile (for the album The Goat Rodeo Sessions on Sony Classical)

Bombino (for the album Agadez on Cumbancha Discovery)
Fatoumata Diawara (for the album Fatou on World Circuit)
Khyam Allami (for the album Resonance/Dissonance on Nawa Recordings)
Trio Tekke (for the album Samas on Trio Tekke)


The awards, voted by Songlines readers and the general public, endeavour to celebrate and acknowledge the myriad of musical talent across the world. All the nominated artists have had albums reviewed in Songlines during 2011 (from #74 to #81 inclusive).

Be sure to check out our Songlines Music Awards 2012 compilation album that features a track from each of the 16 nominated artists. The album will be released on March 19 2012.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .